HomeSearch for 'Automatic'

Automatic - Baby-sitting & Childcare

Do you think Texas should require (by state law) automatic fire safety suppresion systems in NEW homes in ’09?

Posted in Child Care on 27th August 2012

Do you think Texas should require (by state law) automatic fire safety suppresion systems in NEW homes in ’09?
Do you think Texas like at least 12 other states SHOULD require (by Texas state law) automatic fire safety suppresion systems (sprinkler systems) in ALL NEWLY construted homes both “stick” and “manufactured” homes effective on January 1, 2009 and are Texas children taught about fire safety in school? Where I am from (state of Connecticut) we are required by law effective January 1, 2004 (as an option) and MANDATORY on October 1, 2004 to have automatic fire safety suppresion systems in ALL NEW residential construction (homes) and since about the early ’70s the fire departments have gone to the schools and teach children about the dangers of fire.Does Texas do this? Do Texas parents “care” enough to teach there children about the dangers of fire and what to do in the event of fire (other than just dial 911)? Are they taught to know what a smoke detector looks like and what it sounds like when “activated”. Are they taught to get out of the house first before calling 911?

Best answer(s):

Answer by nuff said
. no the added cost of adding these systems as well as the upkeep of these systems is beyond most buyers means. For the state to continue to be the Big Brother nanny state telling everyone what they have to do is giving away your freedom of choice. If you want a system you can have one built into the home, but to mandate it, is just plain socialism/fascism. It amazes me is people run from their nanny states where their rules and regulations have ruined their economies and lives to another state and the people want to have the new state start making those same rules and laws. If you want a sprinkler system have one added, if you want fire safety, teach it to your kids yourself! Instead of expecting the state to do your job as a parent, you take the initiative and tell your kids where to get out of the house at and when to do so. Its quite easy to do and you dont need a state mandate to do this.

Rhode Island Child Support Lawyer Written Article: No Automatic Termination of Child Support at 18!

Posted in Child Support on 12th January 2011

Rhode Island Child Support Lawyer Written Article: No Automatic Termination of Child Support at 18!

How do I terminate my child support obligation and stop wage garnishment in Rhode Island (RI)?

Rhode Island (RI) Child Support does not automatically terminate when a child reaches 18 years old! Termination of a support order is not automatic in Rhode Island! An order / obligation will only terminate if a motion to terminate is granted by a Judge of The Rhode Island Family Court. Unlike a motion to modify, a DR6 financial statement is not necessary unless there is an additional child in which a child support obligation will continue. If there is an additional child under 18 then a motion to terminate is really in essence a motion for modification.

Article by Rhode Island Divorce and Child Support Lawyer  David Slepkow (401-437-1100)

Pursuant to Rhode Island Law, Child Support is eligible to be terminated upon a child attaining the age of 18 and graduating high school but not longer then the child turning 19 years old. If the child is 18 years old and still in high school than child support may continue until the child graduates high school but not longer then the child attaining the age of 19. If a child is determined to be seriously disabled then child support may continue for the remainder of the childs life.  If the Judge finds good cause an order might continue for three months after graduation from high school.

A person should file a motion to terminate support approximately 30-40 days prior to the child’s graduation from high school. If the child did not finish high school then a person should file their motion 30-40 days prior to the child’s 18th birthday. It will take a approximately 30-40 days until the clerk can schedule a hearing for the termination motion.

After the motion to terminate, the attorney must submit proper documentation and orders to the court, the obligors employer (to stop wage garnishment) and to the reciprocal clerk (to amend the computer records) If the computer records are not updated then the computer will continue to show an arrearage which may cause problems including automatic intercept of your tax refund, inability to obtain a passport among other problems.

Rhode Island Attorneys legal Notice per RI Rules of Professional Responsibility:

The Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer or attorney as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.